1. Startseite
  2. Forum
  3. Dialog
  4. English-Talk
  5. advice about used cars

advice about used cars

Themenstarteram 17. Februar 2017 um 20:25

Hello folks, hope you are doing well.

I'm a car driver for a long time, but I had actually only one car in my life (and to be honest far not even good =). Originally I'm not from Germany and auto market significantly differs from I'm used to. So now I'm trying to find some nice used car for me and my family but have a lot of doubts about what to buy.

The only things I really know are yearly mileage (around 10 tkm, mostly weekend trips or holidays), price is around 10-13 thousands, it should be big enough to handle family with kid(s) and for most it should have as less problems (with service, repair etc.) as possible.

So if someone can give me an advice in would be very nice!

thanks in advance

Ähnliche Themen
11 Antworten

You forgot a probably quite important piece of information: What country? Or at least Germany or not? (I don't have much clue about that topic outside Germany lookout for the sentences with "German(y)" in my posting ;-) - but here are also many users especially e.g. from Austria and Switzerland)

At first: Is there car-sharing available in your region? Would that be a solution for you? Just to compare the costs with an own car.

I think with your yearly milage you shouldn't buy a Diesel because I assume that you'll drive very often only a few kilometers. Then the particulate filter usually won't get hot enough -> blocked afters some short distances -> expensive repair.

I think for Germany that's also too few milage for a Diesel concerning costs although Diesel fuel is quite cheap here in relation to gas.

If you really want to buy a used car, you should have somebody you trust who e.g. repairs cars quite often (shouldn't be a person from the company where you want to buy ;-)).